Direction TeatroCinema

Based on the novel by Hernan Rivera Letelier
Adaptation by Laura Pizarro, Dauno Totoro, Julián Marras, Montserrat Antileo Antequera, Juan Carlos Zagal
Discipline Theater, Cinema
Duration 1 hour 30 minutes, (no intermission)
Recommended for +12
Language Spanish, subtitles in English

María Margarita is the best at interpreting the stories from the movies for those who live in the mining camp on the nitrate salt flats. After seeing the movies projected at the movie theater in the office, she relates, acts, sings and performs the romance, adventures and heroics of the movies to a captive audience of miners and their families. However, the camp, its inhabitants and the nitrate fields themselves are facing extinction. Over the course of just one lifetime, everything fades and disappears. Only María Margarita and the ghosts who inhabit her fantasies remain.


TeatroCinema Teatrocinema was formed in the 80’s, at the same time as La Troppa, by three acting graduates from the Pontific Catholic University of Chile’s Theater School. Their motivation was the search for and creation of their own language, something that immediately bore fruit. In 2005, the company was refunded under the name Teatrocinema as an artistic multidisciplinary collective through which a new language was created to fuse (or confuse) the essential elements of theater, film and comics and the plays Sin Sangre (Without Blood); El Hombre que daba de beber a las mariposas (The Man Who Fed Butterflies); Historia de Amor (Love Story) and La Contadora de Películas (The Movie Teller). Teatrocinema has performed at the most important theaters and international festivals around the world. As well as its presentations in Chile, it has toured internationally in around 20 countries.


Novel by Hernán Rivera Letelier / Adaptation by Laura Pizarro, Dauno Totoro, Julián Marras, Montserrat Antileo Antequera, Zagal / Script Zagal y Montserrat Antileo Antequera / Cast Laura Pizarro, Sofía Zagal, Christian Aguilera, Daniel Gallo, Fernando Oviedo / Directed by Zagal / Director's assistant Montserrat Antileo Antequera / Art direction by Vittorio Meschi / Editing and multimedia direction by Montserrat Antileo Antequera/ Technical direction by Luis Alcaide / Original score by Zagal / Songs and vocal arrangements by Sofía Zagal, Christian Aguilera / Sound band design by Teatrocinema, Juan Ignacio Morales /Illumination design by Luis Alcaide / Illumination design assistant Álvaro Salinas / Storyboard by Vittorio Meschi / Multimedia programming by Mirko Petrovich / 3D Modeling by Max Rosenthal / Textures by Vittorio Meschi / Animations by Sebastián Pinto, Max Rosenthal / Post-Production by Sebastián Pinto /Photography by Montserrat Antileo Antequera, Jorge Aguilar / Chroma and video by Teatrocinema, Jorge Aguilar / Scenography design by Teatrocinema / Props design by Vittorio Meschi, Luis Alcaide / Costume design by José Luis Plaza / Costume production by Cristián Miranda / Costume manufacturing by Marta Bravo, Rude Segura / Scenography & props manufacturing by Daniel Figueroa, Álvaro Salinas, Teatrocinema / Illumination operator Luis Alcaide / Video operator Vittorio Meschi / Sound operator Juan Ignacio Morales / Production & logistics by Sally Silva, Julián Marras / Production assistant Lucio González / International management by Loreto Araya / General production by Teatrocinema / Co-producers Teatrocinema, CorpArtes, Le Manège-Mons Centre Dramatique, Scène Nationale de Sète et du Bassin de Thau, La Rose des Vents, Next Festival / Media partner LitoralPress / Technology Partner Valook

With the support of Fondart 2014, Línea de apoyo a Organizaciones Culturales, ONDA (Office National de Diffusion Artistique)

Special thanks Corporación Memoria Chacabuco, Antonio Zagal, La Elefanta Producciones, Siete Rayos, Fabrice Murgia, Giacinto Caponio & Compagnie Artara

Only available for producers and cultural managers interested in supporting the circulation of this show.

Touring Team 10 people
Rooming list 6 singles and 2 doubles
Author Royalties 12% of the box office

Andrés García